Texas Engineering Executive Education

Mary F. Wheeler

Mary F. Wheeler holds the Ernest and Virginia Cockrell Professorship in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. She serves in the departments of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering and Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics and is the director of the Center for Subsurface Modeling in the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences. Her research interests include the numerical solution of partial-differential-equation systems with applications to the modeling of subsurface and surface flows and parallel computation. In 1998, Dr. Wheeler was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. In 2006, she received an honorary doctorate from Technische Universiteit Eindhoven in the Netherlands. In 2008, she received an honorary doctorate from the Colorado School of Mines. In 2009, Dr. Wheeler was honored with the SIAM Geosciences Career Prize. That same year, she was awarded the Theodore von Kármán Prize at the SIAM national meeting, recognizing her seminal research in numerical methods for partial differential equations, her leadership in the field of scientific computation and service to the scientific community, and for her pioneering work in the application of computational methods to the engineering sciences, most notably in geosciences. In 2010, she was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2011, she received a Humboldt Award. In May 2013, Dr. Wheeler received the John von Neumann Medal award from the Unites States Association for Computational Mechanics (USACM). It is the highest award given by USACM to honor individuals who have made outstanding, sustained contributions in the field of computational mechanics over substantial portions of their professional careers. In 2014, she was named an SPE Honorary member, the organization's highest honor.